Personal

A year of auditions

For those of you who haven’t read my previous posts related to my acting journey, I should begin by saying that this year has been one of the most intense years of my life. In a nutshell, I spent the year finally finding the guts to pursue my passion and auditioning for drama schools across the UK. It has been a year during which I have discovered my strength and I wanted to share some of the things I’ve learnt in the process. I’m aware that most of you would not be pursuing the same passion, but I think that if you’re pursueing something that your heart loves and the path to success is a very difficult one, you’ll be able to relate. So here we go:

1. You will know that something is truly your biggest dream and your passion when you find yourself still desiring it as much as ever even when your heart has been crushed and ripped apart multiple times by rejections. If you have tried, and failed, and lost hope, but still want to pursue it as much as ever, chances are this is what you are meant to do. This is hands down the most important lesson I’ve learnt.

2. When you feel so crushed by pure despair of the moment that you feel like you’re going to suffocate, walk it out. After one of the most painful rejections I experienced at a drama school in London, all I wanted was to jump on the plane right away and hide under my blankets forever. As I couldn’t do it, I started walking. I forced myself to walk and keep going for a few hours until my legs were sore. By the end of this walk, I have walked out the biggest share of my pain.

3. As painful as it was at the time, going for those auditions left me with memories of great moments that I will cherish forever. Like the amazing lovely people I met, who hugged and cried together with me after each of our hearts have been broken, and supported me even though we’ve never met before. Like the awesome experiences of auditions at the great London drama schools where the chance of getting in is 1 in 200, if not less. They were still worth going to though, as I learnt a lof of things through the workshops they hosted. 

Finally, throughout this process for the first time in my life I saw the strength and determination that I have. I also believe that I grew so much stronger through pushing myself to the limit.

If you have ever had similar experiences following you dream, feel free to share them with me!

Eve x

4 thoughts on “A year of auditions

Leave a Reply

